Chilling in Chile

04/21/2018

For Thanksgiving last year, my family and I were dying to go somewhere with warm weather and places to explore. We quickly decided on Santiago, Chile and went for a Four-day trip. We really did not know much about the local area, but I think we managed to find many of the cool spots in Santiago.

// DAY 1 DETAILS //

Once we landed I we found a taxi to take us to the hotel. The view from our hotel was GORGEOUS, we could see the city and the peak of the Andes and my photo taking teens were freaking out over it! We got changed into some clothes more suit for the warmer weather, feed the family (of course) and we were out ready to see what Santiago had to offer us. We actually did not do much but explore the shopping mall across the street from the hotel because my family was tired from the long day of travel.

// DAY 2 DETAILS //

We started off our first full trip by going to Parque Metropolitano so we could do some of the best views of Santiago. Using the funicular, we were carried away from the urban city to a 360-degree view of the beautiful city and mountains. Along with the beautiful views, there was a beautiful statue called Virgen de la Inmaculada Concepión which translates to Virgin of the immaculate conception. The beauty sitting in this one area is unbelievable and made this stop worth the walk.

I am pretty sure you know what happened after we saw those beautiful views. You guess it my family was hungry so we stopped at Barrio Bellavista. Barrio Bellavista is an area of Santiago filled with new hip restaurants, boutiques, and avant-garde galleries. I personally found it to be right in line with the liking of my teens because snapchat was open the whole time we were there. Literally the WHOLE time we are there. I kept hearing mom take a photo of me for snapchat or this is going on snapchat but in all seriousness, this area was very trendy and gave a taste of some of the culture that makes up Santiago.

// DAY 3 DETAILS //

We went to see the most beautiful sight I have ever seen except for maybe the birth of my children but this place is up there on the list. El Yeso is a man-made water reservoir that holds up to 250 million cubic meters of water, but let me tell there is nothing man-made about this site. The reservoir has beautiful clear turquoise water and is surrounded by the snow-capped peaks of the Andes. No words can really describe the magnificence of El Yeso. This place is forever ingrained in my mind.

We capped off our final full day in Santiago with a wine tour and dinner at a traditional style restaurant. It was a great experience. I especially love the wine tour it was amazing to taste the wines that are only made and sold in Chile. I would have bought them out of some wines if it were not for customs. The dinner was so amazing with the fresh food and great traditional entertainment. the flies did try to get us in the end but the ambiance was wonderful there.

Such an amazing trip and I already cannot wait to go back !

© 2018 The Drip Drop Society - Young Living Essential Oils. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started